This picture has nothing to do with my post – I just love it. He is so cute! It’s as if he was posing for me!

OK – a little better now. Let me write fast since I am on the clock until the baby wakes up. I read a great article (well, all are great) in Writers Digest magazine (link above). If you don’t have this magazine, you need to get it. Awesome source. This was titled “Costly Mistakes” by Robert W. Bly who is a well known published author and has great websites about general writers information and selling yourself.

This article was a list of 10 business errors that hurt your freelance income. I will just quickly quote these – get the magazine, it’s wonderful.

1. Charging too little – just because you are new to this and/or don’t have a lot of experience, don’t under estimate yourself!
2. Not establishing superior market value – if you charge more, make it worth it to the client.
3. Not specializing – find your niche and become an expert at it.
4. Insufficient and inconsistent self-promotion – when you get busy, don’t ever stop marketing yourself.
5. Focusing on projects instead of relationships – establish an ongoing relationship with clients or publishers.
6. Being a prima donna – Be agreeable and flexible.
7. Not being clear about project conditions, etc – make sure you and the client have a clear understanding about what you’re writing.
8. Wasting time – (no, we don’t do this) We are selling our time – don’t waste it on everything else.
9. Not focusing on clients – find out what the client wants and focus on that more than just the writing.
10. Saying yes when you should say no – (another one us mothers would never do) Ask yourself if this activity furthers your writing career – if no, that should probably be your answer.

So, that’s it for this morning. Since I can’t figure out why I can’t get comments on this template (?!?!) I will post my e-mail address for any and all comments until I figure it out!

If anyone has a web site or blog with information on “internet for dummys” please contact me. Also, I have a copy of the 2005 Writers Market book that I will be giving away to the person who can send me the best information or web site for graphics and add-ons.

Have a blessed and wonderful day.

