Oprah Winfrey – Frey

I know I sound like I am beating this James Frey thing into the ground. But, I am just trying to understand why this is so emotional and publicized. Why is it making people so angry? Is it worth this anger and hostility?

We, Americans, are lied to all the time. Every day. We are always lied to from the media. And the government. And we all know it. And the lies they tell are lies that actually hurt and kill people. But, they don't seem to be held accountable at all. Is Frey some sort of "example" for the bigger problem of America's growing rage with being lied to? Is he a scapegoat?

I think the brunt of the blame goes to the publishers for not researching the facts or offering some sort of disclaimer. And, I guarantee there have been many memoirs that have been fabricated in the past. In fact, I know there have been. But, why the big deal? I cannot even say how my heart goes out to James Frey. He is paying a huge price as being a scape goat for a lot of misdirected anger.

I must say, up front, I really like Oprah Winfrey. I like her show and her magazine, most of the time. She does a lot for a lot of people. But, she comes across as very narcisistic in ways, more so lately than she ever has. I think this Frey thing was a personal affront to her, Ms. Winfrey, and she felt duped and embarrassed. And how dare anyone lie to her or lie to her? Because, she is the top of the ladder, the housewives Goddess, the Guru. I guess. She has had so many people on her show over the years that have blatantly lied to her about serious things. She has invited some back to discuss, but never has she been so angry. Why?

I would like to think Oprah is just upset because she was responsible for the millions of books sold and for offering so much publicity to something that she portrayed as truth. But, I still don't get the anger. The attacking of Frey. There is no excuse for how she pummeled him. None. She comes across as such a humanitarian and a lover of the human race. And yet she showed more anger and repulsion at James Frey than she did with the man who spoke of molesting little girls his whole life. What is going on here?

So, I guess my whole thing is wanting to know why people are so angry about this? In lieu of all the lies and deceits we have been dealing with in government and our country lately, why is this insignificant memoir (or not) being treated with more emotion than, say, the reactions to Katrina. Or Alito being sworn into office (which I am sure he will) and sending women's rights back to the 1800's. Why are sexual offenders still running around unregistered and nobody cares? Where's the anger for this?

I am really sorry, Oprah, that you were lied to. I am sorry you are embarrassed. But, we are all lied to by people every day, all the time. And you called in a couple weeks earlier on Larry King's show and had his back – stood by him 100%. I am shocked by your complete 180. How the hell does that happen? Did you receive emails from people who questioned your almighty-ness? Did they dare to offend the queen of humanity?

Well, you sure were not a humanitarian to James Frey. He is just a human being. A man. A man who made a mistake. Not even a horrible one. He is just a scape-goat. And he just pissed off the wrong people.

So, James, if you happen to come across this blog, and you might, because I have several hundred hits a day with searches for your name, I want you to know that you are just being used as a scapegoat for the boiling anger that is in all of us. And, Oprah doesn't speak for all of us. You made a mistake. A lapse in judgment. I have lied so many times in my life, I don't even remember what is the truth. Honestly, I got to where I believed what I lied about. And you were man enough to go on the King show and Oprah. And you sat there like a man and took it. That is so commendable. It's a hell of a lot more than any government official has done. And their lies are a lot more horrific than yours were.

Hang on, James. Seriously, hang on.

